Harmanpreet Kaur leads Team India against Australia in the T20I series

Mumbai (Maharashtra) [India]Dec 2 (ANI): India’s Board of Control for Cricket on Friday announced the Indian women’s squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Australia.

India will play their first T20I match against Australia on December 9 at DY Patil Stadium, while the second match will be held at the same venue on December 11. Both teams will advance to Brabourne Stadium for the third, fourth and fifth T20I to be held on December 14, 17 and 20 respectively.

Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the 15-member squad while star hitter Smriti Mandhana will play the role of her deputy. India enters the series with two wicketkeepers Yastika Bhatia and Richa Ghosh.

The DY Patil Stadium and the CCI in Mumbai will host the T20I series against Australia.

The usual suspects, such as Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verman and Deepti Sharma, made it. Spinner Rajeshwari Gaikwad’s name also appears on the list.

Pooja Vastrakar was ruled out of the series due to injury and was ineligible for selection.

“Monika Patel, Arundhati Reddy, SB Pokharkar and Simran Bahadur have been selected as net bowlers. Pooja Vastrakar has been ruled out due to injury and was not eligible for selection,” BCCI said in a statement.

With the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup fast approaching, the five match assignment will be crucial for both India and Australia in finding the right combination for the big tournament.

India’s squad for T20I series against Australia: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Renuka Singh Thakur , Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Devika Vaidya, S Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wicketkeeper) and Harleen Deol. (ANI)

Leave a Comment