The Socceroos have qualified for the World Cup final. Here are five things you need to know about the tournament

The Socceroos have won their way to a fifth consecutive World Cup, thanks to a dramatic penalty shootout victory over Peru.

Here are five things you need to know about the Australian team’s challenge in this year’s final.

Where will the World Cup be played and when?

The FIFA world cup will be held in the Middle Eastern country of Qatarfrom November 21st and ending with the World Cup Finalwhich starts at 2 hours AEDT On Dec 19

There will be 32 teams compete in Qatar, split into eight groups of four.

The top two from each group advance to the knockout stage.

Space to play or pause, M to mute, left and right arrows to search, up and down arrows for volume.

Play video.  Duration: 4 minutes 52 seconds

What are the Socceroos’ chances at this year’s World Cup?

Games will be played in eight locations, in or around the capital, Doha

The final will be held in the 80,000 seats Luhail Stadium21 kilometers north of the capital.

Who is in Australia’s group?


Australia has been drawn in Group D as the winner of the intercontinental play-off with Peru, next to FranceTunisia and Denmark

This is a very similar group to the one the Socceroos were in Russia four years ago when Australia played FranceDenmark and Peru

The Socceroos play all their matches on the Al-Janoub Stadium20 kilometers outside of Doha.

Their first match is against France On November 23 at 6:00 AM AEDT

The Australians will get the following face Tunisia On Nov. 26 at 9 p.m. AEDT.

Their last match is against Denmark On Dec 1 at 2 a.m. AEDT

What are the Socceroos’ odds?

Four years ago, Australia failed to make it out of the group stage, finishing fourth behind France, Denmark and Peru with one point from three games.

This year’s tournament presents a difficult task for Graham Arnold’s men.

The French team celebrates with the World Cup trophy as confetti falls around them.
Australia will have to face a French side looking to back-to-back as World Cup champions.Getty Images / China News Service / Visual China Group: Fu Tian

France won the World Cup in 2018 and lifted the trophy for the second time.

Posted updated

Leave a Comment